The Earthworm Fauna of Tehran Province, Iran: an Ecological Characterization

Document Type : Research articles


School of Biology and Center of Excellence in Phylogeny of living organisms, College of Science, University of Tehran, Tehran, Iran


In this study, the earthworms of Tehran Province were investigated. Specimens were collected from wet soil in 48 stations during 2011 and 2012. During the course of the study, eight earthworm species were identified, including: Aporrectodea caliginosa (Savigny, 1826), Ap. rosea (Savigny, 1826), Dendrobaena veneta (Rosa, 1886), Dendrodrilus rubidus (Savigny, 1826), Eisenia fetida (Savigny, 1826), Eiseniella tetraedra (Savigny, 1826), Octolasion lacteum (Örley, 1881), Perelia kaznakovi (Michaelsen, 1910). All of them were common in this area except Perelia kaznakovi and Dendrobaena veneta.